menu2
About Us Upcoming Hikes Past Hikes Frequently Asked Questions Past Emails Related Links Join Us

Past Hikes
Previous Hikes Included:
(Click on the appropriate link below for more information.)

FRANKLIN RIDGE at Carquinez Straight Regional Shoreline
Sunday, November 27, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: This will probably be my last hike for the year, as I will be out of town during the month of December.

Brushy Peak Preserve
Sunday, November 20, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: A 4 mile, easy hike with ~600' of elevetion gain There is another 2+ mile hike that is actually tougher than the 4 miler we could do, if there is any interest.

Lafayette Reservoir Rim Trail
Sunday, November 13, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: Meet at the bathrooms adjacent to the parking lot. I'll be wearing a purple shirt.

Round Valley Regional Preserve - Miwok Trail
Sunday, November 06, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: We do not carry cell phones, so we cannot provide assistance sunday morning. If anyone needs assistance prior to that, use my email address or phone 925-484-4205. Right now the forecast is good, but if it changes and we have to cancel I will contact you by 5:00 PM saturday. This is a very low probability because you can do this hike in a light rain.

Redwood Regional Park (Skyline Gate)
Saturday, November 05, 2005 @ 11:00 AM
NOTE: This will be a moderately fast-paced but short hike in Redwood Regional Park, with redwoods, views, and possibly ladybugs. View the Evite here.

Borges Ranch (from Macedo)
Sunday, October 30, 2005 @ 10:00 AM

Briones Reservoir Loop
Sunday, October 23, 2005 @ 10:01 AM
NOTE: Note: permit required!!!

Las Trampas Peak
Sunday, October 23, 2005 @ 10:00 AM

Wall Point hike (Macedo Ranch)
Sunday, October 16, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: Celebrate this great weather with a great hike. This is similiar to the Lafayette Reservoir upper rim trail. I would rate it "moderate".

Remington Hike
Sunday, October 09, 2005 @ 11:00 AM
NOTE: A great cardio hike! Late morning start time.

Canal Trail Past Heather Farms (Pleasant Hill BART)
Thursday, October 06, 2005 @ 5:50 PM

Redwood Regional Park (Redwood Road Entrance)
Sunday, September 25, 2005 @ 11:00 AM
NOTE: Meet outside the entrance at the Redwood Park sign. Contact Paul if you would like to carpool from the Walnut Creek/Concord area.

Canal Trail Past Heather Farms (Pleasant Hill BART)
Friday, September 23, 2005 @ 6:00 PM

Shell Ridge Hike (via Pleasant Hill BART)
Saturday, September 17, 2005 @ 11:00 AM
NOTE: We will meet at Pleasant Hill BART and caravan together from there to Shell Ridge.

Diablo View
Saturday, September 10, 2005 @ 10:00 AM

Canal Trail Past Heather Farms (Pleasant Hill BART)
Wednesday, September 07, 2005 @ 6:30 PM
NOTE: Member James wrote about this hike in his blog; you can read it here

Briones Crest
Saturday, September 03, 2005 @ 11:00 AM

Angel Island
Sunday, August 14, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: The last ferry leaves Angel Island at 5 PM but I think we should shoot for the 4 PM one. That means if we catch the 10 AM ferry to Angel Island we will be hiking, eating and chatting from 10:30 to 4 or about 5 and 1/2 hours. My friend, Harold, will be leading this hike and knows a lot of the history of Angel Island.

Meet at the ferry dock/pier in Tiburon. It overlooks the water and is about 200 feet off the street in between Tiburon Blvd. and the bay.


Stewartville Loop (Black Diamond Mines)
Saturday, July 30, 2005 @ 8:30 AM
NOTE: Take a trip back in time to the old west on this hike!

Redwood Regional Park (Skyline Gate)
Sunday, July 17, 2005 @ 11:30 AM
NOTE: Re-Scheduled -- AGAIN!

Concord Vietnam Memorial Hike
Monday, July 04, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: A short 2 hour hike. Moderate to easy terrain, ending at the Vietnam Memorial atop the vista point at Newhall Park in Concord.

Town of Ross to Potrero Meadow
Sunday, July 03, 2005 @ 11:00 AM
NOTE: Meet at the southwest corner of Lagunitas Road and Ross Commons.

Hunsaker Canyon
Saturday, July 02, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: There is a dirt area for parking just before the private resort. Gather and meet in this "public area" for the hike.

NORTONVILLE LOOP (Black Diamond Mines)
Sunday, June 26, 2005 @ 9:00 AM

Lake Chabot
Sunday, June 19, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: Meet in the parking lot. We will hike the West Shore Trail. Hike is about 4 miles with some hills.

Mitchell Canyon to Juniper Flat
Sunday, June 12, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: Meet in front of the Mitchell Canyon Interpretive Center. Parking is $3 (exact change) and you will need a pen to fill out the self-parking envelope.

Four Peaks Hike
Sunday, June 12, 2005 @ 8:30 AM
NOTE: I estimate approx 17 miles and 10 hours total distance and time, respectively.

Castle Rock
Sunday, June 05, 2005 @ 9:30 AM

Chapparal Loop
Monday, May 30, 2005 @ 9:00 AM

Mitchell Canyon to Deer Flat
Saturday, May 28, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: Meet by the trail sign at the south end of the parking lot next to the locked gate. Parking is $3 (exact change) and you will need a pen to fill out the self-parking envelope. National Weather Service forecasts Saturday to be the coolest day this weekend, but it still will be warm. Bring at least 1 1/2 liters of water per person, hat, sun block, and snacks.

Table Top Hike
Sunday, May 22, 2005 @ 9:05 AM

Lafayette Reservoir Rim Trail
Sunday, May 15, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: TIME CAHNGE!

Lafayette Reservoir Rim Trail
Sunday, May 08, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: Meet near the fish cleaning table on the left side of the parking lot (facing the reservoir).
CANCELLED due to wet weather.
We will reschedule this for a later time.



Round Valley Regional Preserve - Miwok Trail
Sunday, May 01, 2005 @ 10:00 AM

Ygnacio Canal Trail to Contra Costa Canal Trail Loop (paved)
Sunday, April 24, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: Rain cancels. Phone my cell phone after 9AM for an update.

Point Isabel
Sunday, April 17, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: There is a parking/staging area at the end of the street. Meet by the "dog watering" fountain and sign kiosk at the trailhead entrance. No parking fee that I know of.

Eagle Peak via Twin Peaks
Sunday, April 17, 2005 @ 9:55 AM
NOTE: Rain cancels. Cameras recommended!
Meet at the Regency Gate trailhead inside the park just across from the Mountaire Parkway or Regency Drive street parking (you can use either). I can give a ride to a few people from Walnut Creek Bart if needed. Please contact me (David) if you'd like to take me up this.


Castle Rock
Saturday, April 16, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: Have you seen the Castle Rocks and the "Great Wall of China"? This will be a moderate hike with the option of visiting the Castle Rocks, themselves.

Point Pinole Regional Shoreline
Sunday, April 10, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: We will take the a loop walk consisting of the Cooks Point Trail, leading to the Marsh Trail and concluding with the Bay View Trail. The estimated distance is right around 4 miles and should easily be accomplished in less than three hours. The group should meet in the parking lot which is right off of Giant Highway.

Lafayette Ridge Trail
Sunday, April 03, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: Rain cancels. Don't forget to set your clock FORWARD ONE HOUR!

Las Trampas
Saturday, March 26, 2005 @ 1:00 PM
NOTE: TIME CHANGE. Note that we'll be starting from the paved Parking Lot this time. We will hike up the paved trail, then along the ridge and loop back.

Mount Diablo (Summit Hike)
Sunday, March 20, 2005 @ 8:00 AM
NOTE: Rain CANCELS.

Mt Diablo WaterFall Trail
Sunday, March 13, 2005 @ 10:00 AM

Ohlone Trail Loop
Sunday, March 06, 2005 @ 10:30 AM
NOTE: Dogs are permitted on the first part of this route, but not once inside the widlife preserve gates.

Nimitz Way (Paved) Trail - Inspiration Point
Sunday, February 20, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: In case of rain, phone my cell phone to find out if we are still hiking. Heavy downpour CANCELS; light sprinkling, I plan to show up anyway. :)

Lafayette to Moraga Trail (paved)
Sunday, February 13, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: In case of rain, phone my cell phone to find out if we are still hiking.

Ygnacio Canal Trail to Contra Costa Canal Trail Loop (paved)
Sunday, February 06, 2005 @ 10:00 AM

Iron Horse Regional Trail - Danville to Walnut Creek (paved)
Sunday, January 30, 2005 @ 10:00 AM
NOTE: We'll walk north towards Walnut Creek, then turn back at Rudgear.

Mount Diablo (Summit Hike)
Saturday, January 08, 2005 @ 8:00 AM
NOTE: CANCELLED due to anticipated bad weather.
We will reschedule this for a later time.



Round Valley Regional Preserve - Miwok Trail
Sunday, January 02, 2005 @ 11:00 AM
NOTE: CANCELLED due to weather.
Since this will be my first time hiking this location, let's explore it together! :) Due to the distance out Marsh Creek to get there for those of us traveling from the Walnut Creek side, we'll meet a little later than usual (11AM).



Copyright © 2004-2017 John Bondon all rights reserved